575 Glitch Art Project

575project

For this piece I started by aquiring a high res image of the USA at a satellites point of view off of Google Images. The original image was much larger than I needed ( > 3000px for width) so I scaled it down  to about 1000px width in Photoshop. I then exported the image as a raw format (TIFF) to be edited in Hex Fiend. In Hex Fiend I opened the raw image and saved a copy to a separate folder for editing; incase I messed up the header and overwrote the original. I opened the preview of the file in a seperate window on an external monitor so as I made changes I could save the file and view what it had done (also allowed me to see if I messed the headers up). When I was happy with the results of the first image, I imported that edit into Audacity. I applied the Invert, Echo and Change Pitch effects to various portions of the raw data and exported it yet again as a TIFF. For the third image I imported the RAW file from Audacity and yet again edited the hex information in Hex Fiend. I imported all of these images into the original Photoshop document I had created and began messing with the frame durations and layer sections. When I was happy with what I had, I added some Tween transitions for a fade effects to give a bit more “life” to the final product. I then exported the GIF and now am uploading it to my WordPress for all to view. The rule of having 575 implemented in the project is given by having a black frame appear on the fifth frame, seven ahead of the fifth (twelve) and then five ahead of that (seventeenth frame).

This entry was posted in Digital Foundations, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

